“All I Ask”
By Jacko Velt

It’s like a Christmas I don’t need
These gifts I can’t use
This feeling that means nothing
These sentiments that are left unfelt
Yet if there is not meaning
Everything is a shallow attempt
A transparent front

The feeling of belonging
Why is it that we all need it?
No amount of confidence
Can eliminate the lack
Of belonging.

What fills the gap
That grows inside
When no one fully
Appreciates
What it is you do
Who you are
That you’re here

What fills the hole
That purpose cannot complete
Goals, knowledge, experience, desire
Are not enough
To inspire your confidence

A picture’s worth a thousand words
But all I need are four
I know you want the best of me
Mediocre is not enough
But when does excellence
Excel expectation?
At which point
Does bottomless Want
Become unachievable?

Four words
I believe in you
You did it well
I’m happy for you
I’m glad you’re here
Good to see you
Good job, nice work

Uncertainty racks everyone’s mind
Because there is no connection
From brain to brain
If you think it, say it
If you believe it, convey it
Inference is a faulty interpreter
From one thought and voice
To another ear and understanding

The intonation you use, the words you choose
The way you stand, the way you smile, the way you hesitate
Even for a while
Everything you say and do
Is who you are to the
Outside world.

The way you think, feel, believe
Is never seen nor heard
Until you spell it out
By action or word

Let me know
That’s all I ask

